About Us - Center for Minimally Invasive Surgery


Michael A. Maddaus, MD, Professor of Surgery, Chief of the Division of Thoracic and Foregut Surgery and Program Director of the General Surgery Residency Program. He completed his medical degree at the University of Minnesota and his residency here in the Department of Surgery. He then completed fellowships in Thoracic Surgery at both the University of Toronto and Memorial Sloan-Kettering Hospital in New York. Dr. Maddaus is nationally recognized for his work in molecular biologic detection of cancer cells and is an editor of the Journal of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery. In the area of minimally invasive surgery, his expertise includes foregut and esophageal surgery, anti-reflux procedures, and pulmonary resection. He is one of only six surgeons in the United States performing minimally invasive esophageal cancer surgery.

Sayeed Ikramuddin, MD, Associate Professor of Surgery, is a member of the Division of General Surgery, and completed his medical degree at Albany Medical College in New York, followed by a residency in General Surgery at the State University of New York followed by a residency in General Surgery at the State University of New York, Syracuse. Dr. Ikramuddin completed fellowships at Ohio State University in minimally invasive surgery and at the University of Pittsburgh in the Division of Minimally Invasive Surgery; and was Chief of General Surgery at the VA Medical Center in Pittsburgh until his recruitment to the University of Minnesota in 2001. In the areas of minimally invasive general surgery, his expertise includes laparoscopic approaches to foregut, hepatobiliary, and pancreatic surgery, solid organ transplantation, endocrine, and colon and rectal surgery. His research interests include the immunology of small bowel transplantation, the immunology of laparoscopy, and surgical approaches to type 2 diabetes.


Central Scheduling: 612.672.7422

Provider Referrals: 612.672.7000

Administrative Offices: 612.884.0600

©2014 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.