Top Doctors in the Twin Cities 2013

151 of our physicians have been named 2013 Top Doctors by Mpls.St. Paul Magazine. They represent 41 specialties and make up 25% of the overall list. Learn more about our other recent honors and recognition, and why we are consistently recognized as best in class.

Allergy & Immunology
Malcolm N. Blumenthal, MD

Kumar G. Belani, MD
Richard C. Prielipp, MD

Stephen C. Battista, MD, FACC
Candace D. Dick, MD, FACC
Eric R. Ernst, MD, FACC
Karl W. Foster-Smith, MD, FACC
Gary S. Francis, MD, FACC, FAHA, FACP
Steven M. Heifetz, MD, FACC
Alan T. Hirsch, MD, FACC
David D. Laxson, MD, FACC, FAHA
Richard C. Madlon-Kay, MD, MS
Ganesh Raveendran, MD, MS
Scott Sakaguchi, MD, FACC
Robert F. Wilson, MD

Critical Care Medicine
Alain F. Broccard, MD
David H. Ingbar, MD

Mitchell E. Bender, MD
John R. Fenyk, MD
Neal A. Foman, MD, MS
H. Spencer Holmes, MD
Maria K. Hordinsky, MD
Peter K. Lee, MD, PhD
Steven E. Prawer, MD

Emergency Medicine
Ronald A. Furnival, MD
Mark G. Roback, MD

John P. Bantle, MD
Charles J. Billington, MD
Bradley S. Miller, MD, PhD
Antoinette M. Moran, MD
Brandon M. Nathan, MD
J. Bruce Redmon, MD
Elizabeth R. Seaquist, MD

Family Medicine
Patricia Adam, MD, MSPH
Macaran A. Baird, MD
Nancy Baker, MD
Dwenda Gjerdingen, MD, MS
Jon S. Hallberg, MD
Kara K. Pacala, MD
Shailey Prasad, MD, MPH
Jamie D. Santilli, MD
Carolyn J. Torkelson, MD

Martin L. Freeman, MD
John R. Lake, MD
Sarah Jane Schwarzenberg, MD
Coleman I. Smith, MD

Teresa McCarthy, MD
James T. Pacala, MD

Dale E. Hammerschmidt, MD
Philip B. McGlave, MD
Paul J. Orchard, MD
Mark T. Reding, MD
Marie E. Steiner, MD, MS
Jakub Tolar, MD, PhD
Gregory M. Vercellotti, MD
Daniel J. Weisdorf, MD

Infectious Disease
Patricia Ferrieri, MD
Timothy W. Schacker, MD
Daniel A. Zydowicz, MD

Internal Medicine
Bradley J. Benson, MD
Abraham K. Jacob, MD

Maternal/Fetal Medicine
Daniel V. Landers, MD, FACOG
Tracy L. Prosen, MD
Kirk D. Ramin, MD

Neonatal/Perinatal Medicine
Catherine M. Bendel, MD
Michael K. Georgieff, MD
Theodore R. Thompson, MD

Blanche M. Chavers, MD
Clifford E. Kashtan, MD
Thomas E. Nevins, MD

Thomas R. Henry, MD
Adnan I. Qureshi, MD
Paul J. Tuite, MD
David Walk, MD

Peter A. Argenta, MD
Linda F. Carson, MD
Melissa A. Geller, MD
Amy L. Jonson, MD
Carrie Ann Terrell, MD

Barbara J. Bowers, MD
Kathryn E. Dusenbery, MD
Edward W.Greeno, MD
Christopher L. Moertel, MD
Joseph P. Neglia, MD, MPH
John E. Wagner, MD
Brenda J. Weigel, MD, MS
Douglas Yee, MD

Erick D. Bothun, MD
Inge De Becker, MD, FRCSC
Andrew R. Harrison, MD, MPH
C. Gail Summers, MD
Martha M. Wright, MD

Frank L. Rimell, MD
Bevan Yueh, MD, MPH

Anthony A. Killeen, MD, PhD
J. Carlos Manivel, MD, PhD
Robert W. McKenna, MD

Susan A. Berry, MD
Nimi Singh, MD, MPH

Physical Med/Rehabilitation (Physiatry)
Dennis D. Dykstra, MD, PhD

Gail A. Bernstein, MD
Thomas B. MacKenzie, MD

Pulmonary Medicine
Joanne L. Billings, MD
Jordan M. Dunitz, MD
Marshall I. Hertz, MD
Hyun Joo Kim, MD

F. Glen Seidel, MD

Reproductive Endocrinology
Mark A. Damario, MD, FACOG
William R. Phipps, MD

Bryce A. Binstadt, MD, PhD
Gary L. Bryant, MD, FACP
Jerry A. Molitor, MD, PhD
Richard K. Vehe, MD

Sleep Medicine
Jagdeep S. Bijwadia, MD
Conrad Iber, MD

Sports Medicine
Elizabeth A. Arendt, MD
Joel L. Boyd, MD
Jonathan P. Braman, MD
David A. Fischer, MD
Robert J. Johnson, MD
Bradley J. Nelson, MD
David E. Olson, MD
Steven D. Stovitz, MD, FACSM

Surgery, Cardiac
Rosemary F. Kelly, MD
Kenneth K. Liao, MD, PhD
Sara J. Shumway, MD

Surgery, Colon & Rectal
Robert D. Madoff, MD
David A. Rothenberger, MD

Surgery, Cosmetic/Reconstructive
Bruce L. Cunningham, MD, MS
Peter A. Hilger, MD

Surgery, General
Greg J. Beilman, MD
Maria R. Evasovich, MD
James V. Jr. Harmon, MD
Sayeed Ikramuddin, MD
Todd M. Tuttle, MD
Selwyn M. Vickers, MD, FACS

Surgery, Neurological
Daniel J. Guillaume, MD, MS
Stephen J. Haines, MD, FACS

Surgery, Orthopaedic
Edward Y. Cheng, MD
Denis R. Clohisy, MD
Peter A. Cole, MD
Matthew D. Putnam, MD
Marc F. Swiontkowski, MD
Julie A. Switzer, MD
Ann E. Van Heest, MD
Kevin R. Walker, MD

Surgery, Pediatric
Robert D. Acton, MD
Daniel A. Saltzman, MD, PhD

Surgery, Transplant
Timothy L. Pruett, MD

Surgery, Vascular
Steven M. Santilli, MD, PhD, MBA

Badrinath R. Konety, MD, MBA

Selection process
The Top Doctors are determined by a survey sent to 2500 physicians and 2500 registered nurses, who indicate which doctors they would go to in pre-selected specialties. Physicians who receive the top 15 percent of the vote in each specialty are featured in Mpls. St. Paul Magazine. Survey participants are randomly selected from the State of Minnesota’s list of licensed physicians and nurses in the 10-county metro area.


Central Scheduling: 612.672.7422

Provider Referrals: 612.672.7000

Administrative Offices: 612.884.0600

©2014 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved.